Software for 3D printer laser combos: what each machine uses

The laser on a 3D printer combo runs from its maker's own program, and only some machines also accept LightBurn. Here is which software each laser-capable printer uses, what it runs on, what it costs and how jobs reach the machine.

Published Verified

Part of the topic 3D printer and laser engraver combos, explained

A cedar board with rows of pixelated, algorithm-generated invader shapes raster-engraved into it on an Epilog laser engraver.
Photo: Jared Tarbell, CC BY 2.0

The Bambu Lab H2D, H2D Pro, H2S and H2C run laser jobs from Bambu Suite. The Snapmaker Artisan and Snapmaker 2.0 run them from Snapmaker Luban. Both programs are free. LightBurn, the paid third-party laser program, works with the Snapmaker machines over a USB cable. Neither LightBurn nor Bambu Lab lists LightBurn support for the H2 series.

What software do 3D printer laser combos use?

Each maker ships its own laser software. The Bambu Lab H2D, H2D Pro, H2S and H2C use Bambu Suite, a separate app from the Bambu Studio slicer. The Snapmaker Artisan and Snapmaker 2.0 use Snapmaker Luban, which handles 3D printing, laser and CNC in one program. Both are free and import SVG, DXF, PNG and JPG files.

Machine Laser software LightBurn support Laser software runs on
Bambu Lab H2D Bambu Suite (from V1.0.0.0, March 2025) Not stated by LightBurn or Bambu Lab Windows, macOS
Bambu Lab H2D Pro Bambu Suite (from V1.1.0.50, August 2025) Not stated by LightBurn or Bambu Lab Windows, macOS
Bambu Lab H2S Bambu Suite (from V1.1.1.50, August 2025) Not stated by LightBurn or Bambu Lab Windows, macOS
Bambu Lab H2C Bambu Suite (from V1.1.3.50, November 2025) Not stated by LightBurn or Bambu Lab Windows, macOS
Snapmaker Artisan Snapmaker Luban (v4.5.0 or later; v4.9.0 or later for the 20W/40W modules) Yes, over USB serial, with Snapmaker’s device profiles Windows, macOS, Linux
Snapmaker 2.0 (A150, A250, A350, A250T, A350T, F250, F350) Snapmaker Luban (v3.1.0 or later; v4.1.4 or later for the T and F models) Yes, over USB serial, with Snapmaker’s device profiles Windows, macOS, Linux

The versions are the first release each maker lists for that machine. The 3D printers with a laser engraver list has the laser module power for each model.

Bambu Suite on the Bambu Lab H2 series

Bambu Suite is the only Bambu Lab program that prepares laser jobs. Bambu Lab’s H2S page says the laser and digital cutting functions are “all controlled and visualized through Bambu Suite.” You keep using Bambu Studio for 3D printing on the same machine.

  • Operating systems: Windows 10 or later and macOS. The wiki links Windows and macOS installers for every version up to V1.4.0.00 and no Linux build.
  • Account: the first launch opens a login page, and you need a Bambu Lab account to continue.
  • Files in: PNG, JPG, JPEG, BMP, SVG, DXF and AI since V1.0.0.0. Since V1.5.0.00 (September 2026), File > Import also sends ready-made .gcode and .gcode.lac files straight to the machine.
  • Getting jobs to the printer: Suite binds to printers on your account, or finds unbound printers on the same local network. Since V1.1.2.50, reconnecting a LAN printer no longer asks for the access code again.
  • LAN Only mode: Bambu Lab does not say whether laser and cutting jobs run with the printer in LAN Only mode. One Bambu Lab H2D owner reported on the Bambu Lab forum in June 2026 that Suite detected the cutting module in LAN Only mode, but every job send timed out.

The Bambu Lab A2L also uses Bambu Suite, for blade cutting and pen drawing only. Bambu Lab sells no laser module for the A2L.

Snapmaker Luban on the Artisan and 2.0

Snapmaker Luban is one program for all three toolheads: 3D printing, laser and CNC. Snapmaker recommends it for laser engraving and cutting because it is “tailor-made” for its machines.

  • Operating systems: Windows 8/10 (64-bit), macOS 11 or later, and Linux. Snapmaker tests the Linux build on Ubuntu only.
  • Cost and source: free and open source under the AGPL-3.0 license on GitHub. The latest stable release there is v4.15.0 (January 2025), followed by a v4.15.2 pre-release in June 2025.
  • Files in for laser work: SVG, DXF, PNG, JPG, JPEG, BMP, STL, AMF and 3MF. Snapmaker warns that some DXF files from other programs may not import correctly.
  • Getting jobs to the machine: Luban connects over Wi-Fi or a USB serial cable. File transfer works only over Wi-Fi. A job started over the serial cable stops if the cable disconnects, while a Wi-Fi job carries on if the network drops.

Can you use LightBurn with a 3D printer laser combo?

On the Snapmaker Artisan and Snapmaker 2.0, yes. Snapmaker publishes LightBurn device profiles, and the machine connects over a USB cable rather than Wi-Fi. On the Bambu Lab H2 series, neither LightBurn nor Bambu Lab has announced support as of October 2026. LightBurn’s announced Bambu support covers only the R1, Bambu Lab’s desktop CO2 laser.

LightBurn on the Snapmaker Artisan and 2.0

Snapmaker’s wiki gives the setup:

  1. Import the Snapmaker profile for your laser (2W, 20W or 40W files for the Artisan and 2.0). For the 1.6W or 10W module, create the device manually as “SnapMaker” and enter the work area, such as 400 × 400 mm on the Artisan.
  2. Connect with the USB cable. LightBurn’s network connection does not work with Snapmaker machines, and the computer needs the CH340 USB driver.
  3. Restart the machine when you switch between Luban and LightBurn, because the two use different G-code protocols.
  4. On the Artisan, jog the head and set the work origin from the touchscreen.
  5. For image engraving, Snapmaker suggests saving the G-code to a USB flash drive and starting it from the touchscreen, because the serial link is slow.

LightBurn staff said in February 2024 that the rotary module would not work through LightBurn after a Snapmaker firmware change.

LightBurn and the Bambu Lab H2 series

LightBurn can still draw the design for an H2 machine. LightBurn’s File > Export saves .svg, .dxf or .ai files, and Bambu Suite imports all three. You then set power, speed and the job itself in Suite. Bambu Lab’s documentation does not say whether the .gcode import added in Suite V1.5.0.00 accepts G-code from LightBurn for an H2 machine.

LightBurn’s September 24, 2026 announcement covers only the R1. Version 2.2, then in early access, exports R1 G-code using a device file from Bambu Lab. Version 2.3 is planned to add a direct connection.

What a LightBurn license costs

LightBurn Core costs $99 and covers G-code controllers such as GRBL and Marlin. Pro costs $199 and adds DSP controllers (such as Ruida) and galvo lasers. Either key activates on up to three computers, includes one year of updates and keeps working after that year. Another year of updates costs $40. LightBurn offers a 30-day free trial and builds for Windows, macOS and Linux.

What to check before you buy

  • Your computer’s operating system. Bambu Suite has no Linux build. Luban and LightBurn both run on Linux.
  • Whether you want LightBurn. With the machines in this database, LightBurn works only on the Snapmaker ones, and only over a USB cable.
  • Whether you run your printer offline. Bambu Suite asks for a Bambu Lab account at first launch, and Bambu Lab does not say whether lasering works in LAN Only mode. How each maker’s printers connect is covered in the connectivity guide, and what open and closed software change for owners is in the open vs closed firmware guide.

The 3D printer laser combos topic gathers the other laser pages, including module power, safety and fumes.

Sources

Last verified

  1. Bambu Lab Wiki, Bambu Suite software operation manual (quick start: system requirements, account login, workflow) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  2. Bambu Lab Wiki, Bambu Suite release notes and historic version downloads (Windows and macOS) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  3. Bambu Lab Wiki, Bambu Suite failed to connect to the printer (binding account printers and unbound printers on the same LAN) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  4. Bambu Lab Wiki, Bambu Suite V1.0.0.0 release notes (import formats PNG, JPG, JPEG, BMP, SVG, DXF, AI; page created 2025-03-26) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  5. Bambu Lab Wiki, Bambu Suite V1.1.0.50 release notes (H2D Pro support; 2025-08-12) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  6. Bambu Lab Wiki, Bambu Suite V1.1.1.50 release notes (H2S support; 2025-08-26) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  7. Bambu Lab Wiki, Bambu Suite V1.1.2.50 release notes (LAN printer reconnection with access code; 2025-09-25) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  8. Bambu Lab Wiki, Bambu Suite V1.1.3.50 release notes (H2C support; 2025-11-18) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  9. Bambu Lab Wiki, Bambu Suite V1.3.0.00 release notes (A2L blade cutting and pen drawing; 2026-06-01) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  10. Bambu Lab Wiki, Bambu Suite V1.5.0.00 release notes (direct .gcode and .gcode.lac import, R1 support; 2026-09-22) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  11. Bambu Lab US Store, H2S product page (laser and digital cutting controlled through Bambu Suite) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  12. Bambu Lab Community Forum, H2D cutting module: LAN Only mode (owner report, 2026-06-19) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  13. LightBurn Software Forum, Bambu Lab R1 LightBurn compatibility update (2026-09-24) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  14. LightBurn Software, LightBurn Core license key ($99, GCode controllers, one year of updates) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  15. LightBurn Software, LightBurn Pro license key ($199, all supported controllers) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  16. LightBurn Software, Add a year of updates to your LightBurn license key ($40) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  17. LightBurn Software, Download and 30-day trial (Windows, macOS, Linux builds) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  18. LightBurn Documentation, File menu (Export to .ai, .svg or .dxf) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  19. LightBurn Software Forum, Announcement: Snapmaker firmware updates have affected LightBurn usage (2024-02-20) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  20. Snapmaker Wiki, Using Ray/Artisan/2.0 with LightBurn (device profiles, serial-port connection) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  21. Snapmaker Wiki, Adding a 1.6W or 10W laser module in LightBurn (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  22. Snapmaker Wiki, Quick start guide for 3-axis 20W/40W laser machining on Artisan (Luban recommended; Wi-Fi and serial connection) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  23. Snapmaker Wiki, Download, install and update Snapmaker Luban (system and version requirements) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  24. Snapmaker Wiki, Luban supported file formats (accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  25. Snapmaker on GitHub, Luban repository and releases (AGPL-3.0; v4.15.0 released 2025-01-10) (accessed Oct 10, 2026)